Return to Top Page

MOUNT FUJI (Fujisan)
Mount Fuji - Fujisan (12,360 ft.) is the peerless, sacred mountain of Japan and one of the most beautiful in the world.

NEWS: The removal work of rocks that blocked the Fuji Yoshida Route finished and climbers can go to the summit of Mt Fuji from 3 p.m. July 9 according to Fuji Yoshida City officials.

During the climbing season of July, August and September (10),

During the climbing season of July and August, the trails are crowded@with climbers and pilgrims who start at night so that they can reach the summit in time to see the sunrise. At the base of the mountain lie the Five Lakes of Fuji (Fuji Goko) - Yamanaka, Kawaguchi, Nishi, Motosu and Shoji. All are noted for their beauty. The last eruption happened in 1707. It is said Tokyo, 75 miles distant, was covered in ashes six inches deep. The crater is some 1,968 feet in diameter.

It takes two to three hours boarding an expressway bus outside the west exit of Shinjuku Station to reach the Fuji Five Lakes district which is the most popular route to climb Mt. Fuji.
Lake Kawaguchi Route to the top of Mt. Fuji takes average upward 5 hours and downward 3 hours on foot from the 5th station.

Buses run throughout the year to the Fuji Five Lakes district but to the 5th station of Mt. Fuji in July and August only.

Bus Fares: 1,750 yen to Lake Kawaguchi and 2,700 yen to the fifth uphill station.
All buses are reserved. For reservations, call Fujikyu Highway Bus Reservation Center 03-5376-2222

Telephone: 0555-22-1111 (Fuji Yoshida City)

Mt. Fuji viewed from the Panorama Lounge of Narukawa Art Museum at Lake Ashinoko
(Photos May 17, 2014)

Scenes at Mt. Fuji 5th Station and 6th Station Area
(Photos Oct. 11, 2010)

Mt. Fuji viewed from Lake Kawaguchi and Asagiri Kogen Highland
(Photos Oct. 23, 2010)

Mt. Fuji viewed from Lake Shoji and Lake Motosu
(Photos Nov. 10, 2010)

WINTER FUJI viewed from Nihondaira. Plus Kuno-zan Toshogu Shrine and Miho-no-Matsubara

(Photos Jan. 9, 2011)

Nihondaira is a hill of 307 meters high located in the suburbs of Shizuoka City 112 miles west of Tokyo. The name of the hill comes from a legend that Nihon (Yamato) Takeru-no-Mikoto (81-113), one of the famous warriors of Japanese history and a prince of the Emperor Keiko (70-130), on his expedition against barbarians of the north climbed the hill and viewed around the area. Nihondaira is known as one of the best viewing spots of Mt. Fuji. The magnificent view spread out beneath one's eyes is Shimizu Port and City.
A ropeway runs from the top of the hill to Tokugawa's Kunozan Toshogu Shrine.

Kunozan Toshogu Shrine in Shizuoka
(Photos Jan. 9, 2011)
Kuno-zan Toshogu is dedicated to the deified spirit of Tokugawa Ieyasu (1543-1616), the greatest shogun in Japanese history. It was built in 1617 by the second shogun, Hidetada, the third son of Tokugawa Ieyasu on Kuno-zan hill in Sumpu (today's Shizuoka). There are thirteen structures within the sacred grounds. All of them are the original structures and they are designated as important cultural properties of Japan. Kuno-zan Toshogu was originally built in the mixed style of Shintoism and Buddhism. But after the shogunate government came to its end, the new government, led by the Meiji emperor, ordered the seperation of the two religions, and some Buddhist style structures were removed or remodeled. The remnants of the Buddhist style can still be seen in various locations. The same fundamental architectural style was copied by the Nikko Toshogu shrine which was built by the third shogun in 1636. Tens of other Toshogu shrines using the same architectural style were built by the local feudal lords all over Japan. (Shrines named Toshogu are all dedicated to Tokugawa Ieyasu). As you climb up the 1159 stone steps leading to the sacred grounds, it is believed you are purified by the magical power of Tokugawa Ieyasu. In the sacred grounds, you can meet the spirit of Tokugawa Ieyasu. (from the shrine pamphlet).

Miho-no-Matsubara (Pinary of Miho)
(Photos Jan. 9, 2011)
Miho-no-Matsubara (Pinary of Miho) is famous for its hagoromo legend and is made into a famous noh play, "Hagoromo." In the story, an angel (tennyo) comes down to Miho-no-Matsubara, the pine-covered promontory in Suruga Bay, and hangs her hagoromo (robe) on a pine tree while she goes to bathe in the sea. A young fisherman notices the robe by its strange fragrance. Attracted by its beauty, he takes the robe away. When the angel comes out of the sea and finds her robe gone, she begs him to return it. Finally the young man asks the angel to show him the heavenly dance. When she dances, he returns the robe, and she is then able to fly back to her own land.

Mount Fuji viewed from Oshino Hakkai
(Photos March 9, 2011)
Oshino Hakkai is designated as one of the 100 best water sites in Japan. Oshino Hakkai is made up of eight spring water ponds. These eight ponds are spring-fed by water running down from Mt. Fuji, and have long been revered as. "springs of the Gods." The water of the ponds takes 80 years for melted snow to flow down from Mt. Fuji between layers of lave flows underground and filtered out as clear spring water. Oshio Hakkai of Oshino Village is a popular place for photographers taking pictures of winter Fuji with well preserved old farm houses of Japan.

Cherry Blossoms and Mt. Fuji at Kanukiyama in Numazu, Shizuoka Prefecture

Numazu is a city located in eastern Shizuoka Prefecture. It is 80 miles west of Tokyo. The city has a population of about 200,000 and enjoys a mild climate. Numazu is a major center of Shizuoka prefecture's fishery industry.

Mt. Kanuki of Numazu City is 193 meters above the sea level and is located only 2.5 km from the center of the city making it a popular hiking spot for the citizens of Numazu. Scenes of the pagoda against the backdrop of Mt. Fuji in cherry blossom season produces magnificent beauty. This year in 2019, the cherry blossoms will be in full bloom toward the end of the first week of April. (Check Numazu City about it). The Pagoda was built in 1965 in memory of the 3,384 war dead since the Meiji era at the place commanding a view of the entire city of Numazu. The pagoda is administered by Numazu City.

Access to Kanukiyama Park: Take a bus No. 4 from south exit of JR Numazu Station.
Telephone: 055-931-2500 (Numazu City).

Cherry Blossoms and Mt. Fuji viewed from Lake Kawaguchi

Lake Kawaguchi is the most popular lake among Fuji Goko (Five Lakes of Mt. Fuji) located in Yamanashi Prefecture at the base of Mt. Fuji. VIsitors can enjoy fine view of Mt. Fuji, unique fine art gallery and museum, hot springs, play grounds, etc.

Cherry Blossoms and Mt. Fuji viewed from Lake Kawaguchi

Cherry Blossoms and Mt. Fuji viewed from Fuji Sengen Shrine at Arakura Shimo-Yoshida

Arakura Sengen Shrine at Arakura, Shimoyoshida

According to Fujiyoshida Sightseeing Promotion Service official, cherry blossoms will probably be in full around April 10th this year in 2019.
The prominent sight-seeing spot for Mt. Fuji is located on the halfway up of Mt. Arakura (650-850 meters high and 400 stone steps). Visitors can have a splendid view of Mt. Fuji, cherry blossoms during the season and beautiful Chureito pagoda.
The Chureito Pagoda was built in 1962 at the place overlooking entire city of Fujiyoshida City by the local people in memory of the 1,055 war victims since the Meiji era.

The spot has become very popular among foreign tourists since the place was introduced in a school textbook of Thailand and it became the cover page of Michelin Green Guide Japon in 2009.

Access: 30 minutes walk from Shimoyoshida Station of Fujikyu Railway from JR Otsuki Station.on JR Chuo Line or Take a bus for Lake Kawaguchi at the west exit of JR Shinjuku Station and get off at Shimoyoshida bus stop, 45 minutes ride by a bus from Shinjuku Bus fare is 1,750 yen. Every 30 minutes during the season. or
Telephone: 0555-21-1000 (Fujiyoshida Sightseeing Promotion Service for cherry blossoms)/ 0555-22-1111 (Fujiyoshida City)

Mt. Fuji Climbing Season begins July 1 for two months.